Campaign Structure

The Get Georgia Reading Campaign operates under the auspices and guiding vision of a group of high-level statewide public/private organization leaders. Cabinet members:

  • Leverage their statewide reach and positions of leadership to promote the application of the four-pillar framework at the systems level; and
  • Act as ambassadors inside their sectors and network, sharing information about the Campaign and promoting use of the four pillars as a framework for action.

The Cabinet has two subcommittees:

  • Data/Evaluation: These are the Cabinet-appointed data/evaluation subject matter experts representing GaDOE, DECAL, DPH, Emory, ARC, GaFCP, GEEARS, GOSA, and GPEE. Members of this subcommittee provide access to and analysis of data to monitor the landscape of factors impacting children’s ability to read and progress toward change.
  • Communication: These are the Cabinet-appointed communication subject matter experts representing GaDOE, DECAL, DPH, GEEARS, and GaFCP. Members of this subcommittee chaired by GPB provide professional services, support, and guidance for communicating the science behind the four pillars, the progress of partners taking action, and the experiences of individuals and communities working to Get Georgia Reading.

The Campaign’s host organization is GaFCP, which is also the state’s Kids Count grantee. In its role as host organization, and as a member of the Campaign Cabinet, GaFCP has connected its statewide network of Collaboratives and technical assistance team to support our mission. The collective efforts of these leaders and the hundreds of other partner organizations are supported by a small Campaign staff based at GaFCP.

In addition to Cabinet members and partners investing in strategies to realize our four-pillar framework, the Campaign is supported by investments from national- and Georgia-focused foundations and corporations. This essential support makes possible the operation of the Campaign and innovations in early learning and literacy.

Meet the Cabinet

Click on the images below to learn more about our Cabinet members and the organizations they represent.

The Annie E. Casey Foundation

Rubye Sullivan, Senior Associate for Education Achievement

Wenona C. Belton

Judge, Fulton County Juvenile Court

Bright from the Start: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning (DECAL)

Amy Jacobs, Commissioner

Allison Setterlind, Director of Head Start State Collaboration Office

Susan Adams, Assistant Commissioner for Pre-K and Instructional Supports

Bentley Ponder, Senior Director of Research and Policy

Department of Community Health

Heather Bond, Assistant Chief, Regulatory Services and Compliance

Division of Family and Children Services (DFCS)

Keith D. Bostick, Division Deputy Director for Child Welfare

Walter Jones, Legislative and Communications Director

Geoff Duncan,
Lieutenant Governor

Mike Dudgeon,
Policy Director for Lieutenant Governor

Georgia Department of Community Affairs

Christopher Nunn,

Georgia Department of Education (GaDOE)

Richard Woods, State Superintendent

Dr. Caitlin Dooley, Deputy Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction

Dr. Garry McGiboney, Deputy Superintendent for the Office of School Safety

Eric Thomas, Chief Turnaround Officer

Ashley Harris, Director of Partnerships and Community Engagement

Georgia Department of Public Health (DPH)

J. Patrick O’Neal, Commissioner

LaToya Osmani, Division Director

Georgia Family Connection Partnership (GaFCP)

Gaye Smith, Executive Director

Georgia Partnership for Excellence in Education

Dana Rickman, Policy and Research Director

Georgia Professional Standards Commission (GaPSC)

Bobbi Ford, Education Specialist

Georgia Public Library Service (GPLS)

Julie Walker, State Librarian

Georgia School Superintendents Association

Dr. Morcease J. Beasley, Superintendent/CEO, Clayton County Public Schools

Dr. Grant Rivera, Superintendent of Marietta City Schools

Governor’s Office of Student Achievement (GOSA)

Joy Hawkins, Executive Director

Brian Kemp

Grant Thomas, Legislative Liaison and Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor

Lighthouse Foundation

David Paule, Executive Director

Marcus Autism Center

Dr. Lindee Morgan, Co-Director of Educational Science, Research

Kenneth Mason

Georgia State Board of Education

Polk Family Connection

Rhonda Heuer, Executive Director

Sandra Dunagan Deal Center for Early Language and Literacy

Dr. Theresa Magpuri-Lavell, Executive Director

Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG)

Martha Ann Todd, Deputy Commissioner

Benita Moore, Curriculum Program Specialist

Dr. Cayanna Good, Assistant Commissioner of Adult Literacy

Annaliza Thomas, Director, Certified Literate Community Program, Office of Adult Education

University System of Georgia

Bob Michael, Associate Vice Chancellor of Educator Preparation and Policy in the Office of Educational Access and Success

Voices for Georgia’s Children

Dr. Erica Fener Sitkoff, Executive Director

Peggy Walker

Judge, Douglas County Juvenile Court

Our Investors

The Campaign has received generous support from a number of national- and Georgia-focused foundations and corporations. Their investments have made possible the operation of the Campaign itself and a number of innovative strategies around the state.  

Belk Foundation
Helen, David and Marian Woodward Fund, Atlanta
Joseph B. Whitehead Foundation
The Annie E. Casey Foundation
The Arthur M. Blank Family Foundation
The Zeist Foundation
United Way of Greater Atlanta

Contact us if you would like to learn more about how your organization can invest in this work.